

INTERNATIONALER

VERBAND

ZUM SCHUTZ VON

PFLANZENZÜCHTUNGEN

GENF, SCHWEIZ

UNION INTERNATIONALE
POUR LA PROTECTION
DES OBTENTIONS
VÉGÉTALES

GENÈVE, SUISSE

UNIÓN INTERNACIONAL
PARA LA PROTECCIÓN
DE LAS OBTENCIONES
VEGETALES

GINEBRA, SUIZA

INTERNATIONAL UNION
FOR THE PROTECTION
OF NEW VARIETIES
OF PLANTS

GENEVA, SWITZERLAND

## UPOV Press Release No. 65

Geneva, June 29, 2005

## EUROPEAN COMMUNITY BECOMES FIRST INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATION TO JOIN UPOV

The European Community (EC) became the first intergovernmental organization to join the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) when it deposited its instrument of accession with the Secretary-General of UPOV, Dr. Kamil Idris, on June 29, 2005. UPOV is an independent intergovernmental organization based in Geneva which administers an international treaty that governs the granting of intellectual property rights to plant breeders to encourage the development of new varieties of plants.

The accession of the EC is a milestone in the history of UPOV and promises to help strengthen the system of plant variety protection around the world and to broaden international cooperation in this area.

Community plant variety rights within the EC are administered by the Community Plant Variety Office (CPVO) in Angers, France. With more than 2,600 applications per year, the CPVO receives the highest number of requests for variety protection among the 59 members of UPOV. The CPVO provides for one application, one examination and one title of protection that is valid and enforceable in all 25 members of the European Union.

The UPOV Convention provides the international legal framework for the granting of plant breeders' rights which are a key element in encouraging breeders to pursue and enhance their search for improved varieties with benefits such as higher yield and quality and better resistance to pests and diseases. Plant breeders' rights thereby help to enhance sustainable agriculture, productivity, income, international trade and economic development in general.

## The members of UPOV are:

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, European Community (as of July 29, 2005), Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay and Uzbekistan.

For further information about UPOV, please contact the UPOV Secretariat.