

Technical Committee TC/56/15

Fifty-Sixth Session Original: English
Geneva, October 26 and 27, 2020 Date: August 18, 2020

to be considered by correspondence

RECOMMENDATIONS CONCERNING THE ELECTION OF NEW CHAIRPERSONS OF THE TECHNICAL WORKING PARTIES

Document prepared by the Office of the Union

Disclaimer: this document does not represent UPOV policies or guidance

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1. The purpose of this document is to present proposals for recommendations by the Technical Committee (TC) to the Council on the election of the next chairpersons of the Technical Working Parties (TWPs).
- 2. The TC is invited to recommend to the Council the election of the next Chairpersons of the TWPs for a term of three years ending with the fifty-seventh ordinary session of the Council, in 2023, as follows:
 - (a) Ms. Renée Cloutier (Canada) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Agricultural Crops (TWA);
 - (b) Mr. Christopher Barnaby (New Zealand) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Fruit Crops (TWF):
 - (c) Ms. Ashley Balchin (Canada) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Ornamental Plants and Forest Trees (TWO);
 - (d) Ms. Marian van Leuween (Netherlands) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Vegetables (TWV); and
 - (e) Ms. Beate Rücker (Germany) as Chairperson of the Working Group on Biochemical and Molecular Techniques, and DNA-Profiling in Particular (BMT).

BACKGROUND

Technical Working Party for Agricultural Crops (TWA)

3. The TWA, at its forty-eighth session,¹ agreed to propose to the TC that it recommend to the Council to elect Ms. Renée Cloutier (Canada), as the next chairperson of the TWA (see document TWA/48/9 "Report", paragraph 138).

Technical Working Party for Fruit Crops (TWF)

4. The TWF, at its fiftieth session,² agreed to propose to the TC that it recommend to the Council to elect Mr. Christopher Barnaby (New Zealand), as the next chairperson of the TWF (see document TWF/50/13 "Report", paragraph 115).

Technical Working Party for Ornamental Plants and Forest Trees (TWO)

5. The TWO, at its fifty-second session,³ agreed to propose to the TC that it recommend to the Council to elect Ms. Ashley Balchin (Canada), as the next chairperson of the TWO (see document TWO/52/11 "Report", paragraph 135).

¹ Held in Montevideo, Uruguay, from September 16 to 20, 2019

² Held in Budapest, Hungary, from June 24 to 28, 2019

³ Hosted by the Netherlands and organized by electronic means, from June 8 to 12, 2020

Technical Working Party for Vegetables (TWV)

6. The TWV, at its fifty-third session,⁴ agreed to propose to the TC that it recommend to the Council to elect Ms. Marian van Leeuwen (Netherlands), as the next chairperson of the TWV (see document TWV/53/14 Rev. "Revised Report", paragraph 134).

Working Group on Biochemical and Molecular Techniques, and DNA-Profiling in Particular (BMT)

- 7. The Council, at its fifty-third ordinary session,⁵ elected, in each case for a term of three years ending with the fifty-sixth ordinary session of the Council, in 2022, Mr. Nik Hulse (Australia), Chair of the Technical Committee, and Ms. Beate Rücker (Germany), Vice-Chair of the Technical Committee (see document C/53/15 "Report", paragraph 53).
- 8. Traditional practice of the TC has been for the Vice-Chairperson of the TC to be recommended as the Chairperson of the BMT.

Technical Working Party on Automation and Computer Programs (TWC)

9. Document TC/56/10 "Possible merger of BMT and TWC" contains proposals to address relevant procedural matters including Chairmanship matters. Therefore, after consultation with the TC Chairperson, Mr. Nik Hulse (Australia), this document does not present a proposal for the chairperson of the TWC.

- 10. The TC is invited to recommend to the Council the election of the next Chairpersons of the TWPs for a term of three years ending with the fifty-seventh ordinary session of the Council, in 2023, as follows:
- (a) Ms. Renée Cloutier (Canada) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Agricultural Crops (TWA);
- (b) Mr. Christopher Barnaby (New Zealand) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Fruit Crops (TWF);
- (c) Ms. Ashley Balchin (Canada) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Ornamental Plants and Forest Trees (TWO);
- (d) Ms. Marian van Leuween (Netherlands) as Chairperson of the Technical Working Party for Vegetables (TWV); and
- (e) Ms. Beate Rücker (Germany) as Chairperson of the Working Group on Biochemical and Molecular Techniques, and DNA-Profiling in Particular (BMT).

[End of document]

⁴ Held in Seoul, Republic of Korea, from May 20 to 24, 2019.

⁵ Held in Geneva, on November 1, 2019.