

Disclaimer: unless otherwise agreed by the Council of UPOV, only documents that have been adopted by the Council of UPOV and that have not been superseded can represent UPOV policies or guidance.

This document has been scanned from a paper copy and may have some discrepancies from the original document.

Avertissement: sauf si le Conseil de l'UPOV en décide autrement, seuls les documents adoptés par le Conseil de l'UPOV n'ayant pas été remplacés peuvent représenter les principes ou les orientations de l'UPOV.

Ce document a été numérisé à partir d'une copie papier et peut contenir des différences avec le document original.

Allgemeiner Haftungsausschluß: Sofern nicht anders vom Rat der UPOV vereinbart, geben nur Dokumente, die vom Rat der UPOV angenommen und nicht ersetzt wurden, Grundsätze oder eine Anleitung der UPOV wieder.

Dieses Dokument wurde von einer Papierkopie gescannt und könnte Abweichungen vom Originaldokument aufweisen.

Descargo de responsabilidad: salvo que el Consejo de la UPOV decida de otro modo, solo se considerarán documentos de políticas u orientaciones de la UPOV los que hayan sido aprobados por el Consejo de la UPOV y no hayan sido reemplazados.

Este documento ha sido escaneado a partir de una copia en papel y puede que existan divergencias en relación con el documento original.



UPOV/C/VI/8 Original: English Date: August 21, 1972

INTERNATIONALER VERBAND ZUM SCHUTZ VON PFLANZENZÜCHTUNGEN

UNION INTERNATIONALE POUR LA PROTECTION DES OBTENTIONS VÉGÉTALES

INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE PROTECTION OF NEW PLANT VARIETIES

COUNCIL

Sixth Session

Geneva, November 8 and 9, 1972

ELECTION OF

VICE-PRESIDENT OF THE COUNCIL

CHAIRMEN OF THE TECHNICAL WORKING PARTIES

AND

CHAIRMAN OF THE WORKING GROUP ON VARIETY DENOMINATIONS

Report by the Secretary General

1. It is recalled that, at its fourth meeting (Geneva, October 28 and 29, 1970), the Council unanimously elected Mr. A. de Zeeuw, representative of the Netherlands, <u>Vice-President of the Council</u> for a period of two years (see document UPOV/C/IV/17, paragraph 8). Mr. de Zeeuw replaced Mr. van Leeuwen, former representative of the Netherlands.

2. Since the two-year period will have expired immediately after the sixth session of the Council, provisions must be made for the election of a Vice-President for the next period of two years.

3. It is further recalled that, at its fifth meeting (Geneva, October 13 to 15, 1971), the Council decided (see document UPOV/C/V/28, paragraphs 94 and 86)

- (i) that, in general, Chairmen of the Council and of other groups and committees should change every three years, and that only in exceptional circumstances might an extension be allowed; and
- (ii) that the current <u>Chairmen of the Working Group for Variety Denominations</u> and the five <u>Technical Working Parties</u>, who--with one exception--had served for three years, should remain in office for one year more.

4. The exception mentioned in subparagraph (ii) of the preceding paragraph refers to the Technical Working Party for Fruit Crops, the Chairman of which, Mr. J.M.S. Potter, had served only for one year. Accordingly, Mr. Potter could hold office for two more years, counted from October 1971. However, Mr. Potter has presented his resignation on the grounds that he is no longer in active service.

5. The Chairmen to be relieved are mentioned in the Annex to this report.

6. The Council is invited to make the necessary decisions.

Chairmen of the Technical Working Parties

1. A main Technical Group and four Technical Working Parties were established unofficially in 1966 after a meeting of experts held in London from October 17 to 19 of that year. The following persons were nominated as Chairmen:

Main Technical Group	Dr. P.S. Wellington (UK)
Agricultural Section (self-fertilized crops)	Mr. A.F. Kelly (UK)
Agricultural Section (cross-fertilized crops)	Dr. C.H. Roemer (D)
Horticultural Section	Dr. O. Banga (NL)
Fruit and Decoratives Section	Prof. A. Klougart (DK)

2. After Dr. Roemer and Dr. Banga had retired they were replaced by Dr. H. Höppner (D) and Ir. C. Dorsmann (NL) respectively, and at a meeting of experts held in Rhenen (Wageningen) on February 21 and 22, 1968, Mr. V.A. Hallig (DK) was requested to take over the chairmanship regarding decoratives, which from then on was dealt with by an independent group. Prof. S. Dalbro (DK) was nominated as Chairman of the Fruit Group replacing Prof. Klougart, and in 1970 he in turn was replaced by Mr. J.M.S. Potter (UK).

3. The Main Technical Group, under the chairmanship of Dr. Wellington, ceased to function after the first meeting of the Council (Paris, November 26 and 27, 1968).

4. At its second session (Berne, February 11 and 12, 1969), the Council formally established the following five Technical Working Parties, the present Chairmen of which are indicated below.

Self-fertilized Agricultural Crops	Mr. A.F. Kelly (UK)
Cross-fertilized Agricultural Crops	Dr. H. Höppner (D)
Vegetables	Ir. C. Dorsmann (NL)
Fruit Crops	Mr. J.M.S. Potter (UK)
Ornamental Plants	Mr. V.A. Hallig (DK)

Mr. Kelly was entrusted with the task of coordinating the work.

Chairman of the Working Group on Variety Denominations

5. This Working Group was established by the Council at its first session (Paris, November 26 and 27, 1968), and has been chaired since then by Dr. D. Böringer (D).

/End of Annex and of document/