

INTERNATIONALER
VERBAND
ZUM SCHUTZ VON
PFLANZENZÜCHTUNGEN

GENF, SCHWEIZ

UNION INTERNATIONALE
POUR LA PROTECTION
DES OBTENTIONS
VÉGÉTALES

GENÈVE, SUISSE

UNIÓN INTERNACIONAL
PARA LA PROTECCIÓN
DE LAS OBTENCIONES
VEGETALES

GINEBRA, SUIZA

INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE PROTECTION OF NEW VARIETIES OF PLANTS

GENEVA, SWITZERLAND

## PRESS RELEASE

**UPOV Press Release 97** 

Geneva, June 10, 2014

## African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI) Becomes Second Intergovernmental Organization to Join UPOV

The African Intellectual Property Organization (OAPI) became the second intergovernmental organization and the seventy-second member to join the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) when Mr. Paulin Edou Edou, Director General of OAPI, deposited the instrument of accession of OAPI to the UPOV Convention with the Secretary-General of UPOV, Mr. Francis Gurry, on June 10, 2014.

The purpose of UPOV is to provide and promote an effective system of plant variety protection, with the aim of encouraging the development of new varieties of plants, for the benefit of society (see FAQs at <a href="http://www.upov.int/about/en/faq.html">http://www.upov.int/about/en/faq.html</a>).

OAPI operates a plant variety protection system which covers the territory of its 17 member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo. The headquarters of OAPI are in Yaoundé, Cameroon (see <a href="http://www.oapi.int/">http://www.oapi.int/</a>).

"The accession of OAPI is a milestone in the history of UPOV and promises to help strengthen the system of plant variety protection around the world and to broaden international cooperation in this area," Gurry said.

The members of UPOV are:

African Intellectual Property Organization (as of July 10, 2014), Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, European Union, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan and Viet Nam.

For further information about UPOV, please contact the UPOV Secretariat:

[End of document]