STATUS IN RELATION TO THE INTERNATIONAL UNION FOR THE PROTECTION OF NEW VARIETIES OF PLANTS (UPOV)

as of February 2, 2024

I. Members of UPOV

African Intellectual Property Organization ^{2,4} Albania ²	Colombia ¹ Costa Rica ² Croatia ²	Ireland ² Israel ² Italy ¹	Oman ² Panama ² Paraguay ¹	Spain ² Sweden ² Switzerland ²
Argentina ¹	Czech Republic ²	Japan ²	Peru ²	Trinidad and Tobago ¹
Armenia ^{2, 5}	Denmark ²	Jordan ²	Poland ²	Tunisia ²
Australia ²	Dominican Republic ²	Kenya²	Portugal ¹	Türkiye ²
Austria ²	Ecuador ¹	Kyrgyzstan ²	Republic of Korea ²	Ukraine ²
Azerbaijan ²	Egypt ²	Latvia ²	Republic of Moldova ²	United Kingdom ²
Belarus ²	Estonia ²	Lithuania ²	Romania ²	United Republic of Tanzania ²
Belgium ²	European Union ^{2, 3}	Mexico ¹	Russian Federation ²	United States of America ²
Bolivia (Plurinational State of) ¹	Finland ²	Montenegro ²	Saint Vincent and the	Uruguay ¹
Bosnia and Herzegovina ²	France ²	Morocco ²	Grenadines ²	Uzbekistan ²
Brazil ¹	Georgia ²	Netherlands (Kingdom of) ²	Serbia ²	Viet Nam ²
Bulgaria ²	Germany ²	New Zealand ¹	Singapore ²	
Canada ²	Ghana ²	Nicaragua ¹	Slovakia ²	
Chile ¹	Hungary ²	North Macedonia ²	Slovenia ²	
China ¹	Iceland ²	Norway ¹	South Africa ¹	(Total 79)

¹ 1978 Act is the latest Act by which 17 States are bound.

² 1991 Act is the latest Act by which 60 States and 2 organizations are bound.

³ Operates a plant breeders' rights system which covers the territory of its 27 member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands (Kingdom of), Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden).

⁴ Operates a plant breeders' rights system which covers the territory of its 17 member States (Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Togo).

⁵ Armenia will become bound by the 1991 Act on March 2, 2024.

II. States and intergovernmental organizations which have initiated the procedure for acceding to the UPOV Convention

States (18):

Afghanistan, Brunei Darussalam, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nigeria, Philippines, Tajikistan, United Arab Emirates, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Zimbabwe

Organization (1):

African Regional Intellectual Property Organization (ARIPO)

(member Štates of ARIPO (20): Botswana, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe)

III. States and intergovernmental organizations which have been in contact with the Office of the Union for assistance in the development of laws based on the UPOV Convention

States (25):

Algeria, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Barbados, Cambodia, Cuba, Cyprus, El Salvador, Indonesia, Iraq, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Libya, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Seychelles, Sudan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan and Zambia

Organization (1):

Southern African Development Community (SADC)

(member States of SADC (15): Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe)



34, chemin des Colombettes, CH-1211 Geneva 20 (Switzerland) telephone: (+41-22) 338 91 11 — telefax: (+41-22) 733 03 36

e-mail: upov.mail@upov.int — internet: http://www.upov.int